In memory of Justice Beverley Browne

Learn more about her extraordinary journey

Logo-5-6 (1)

To celebrate and be proud of a person’s accomplishements

November 6, 2023 Press Release:

2023 Recipients – English

2023 Recipients – Français

2023 Recipients – ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ

The Recipients are:

  • Alice Kilaodluk – Cambridge Bay
  • Cynthia Kilabuk – Iqaluit
  • Desiree Kalluk – Resolute Bay
  • Eunice Kalluk – Resolute Bay
  • Joanasie Aglak – Pond Inlet
  • Josiah Kalluk – Resolute Bay
  • Kallaarjuk Taukie – Kinngait
  • Kaniq Allerton – Iqaluit
  • Katsuaq Saila – Kinngait
  • Kiana Ekpakohak – Cambridge Bay
  • Kiana Laurer Kitigon – Cambridge Bay
  • Kim Canlas – Iqaluit
  • Kupaaq Kalluk – Resolute Bay
  • Nathalie Lexus Dion – Rankin Inlet
  • Samuel Kalluk – Resolute Bay
  • Sandy Temela – Kimmirut
  • Suki Hogaluk – Cambridge Bay
  • Tanner Kalluk – Resolute Bay
  • Tia Kilabuk – Iqaluit

Nunavut News – November 14, 2022

Nunavut youth leaders honoured for their community accomplishments

The Recipients are:

  • Eekeeluak Avalak from Cambridge Bay
  • Aggiu Dimitruk from Cambridge Bay
  • Qajaaq Ittinuar from Chesterfield Inlet
  • Catherine Gibbons from Arviat
  • James Kolola from Kimmirut
  • Nolan Kuluguqtuq  from Pangnirtung
  • Raymonde Lonla Talekang from Iqaluit
  • Jerimah Nuqingaq from Iqaluit
  • Abigail Tunnille  from Kinngait
  • Youth from Iqaluit  (Inuksuk High School)

Covid-related delay for the years 2020 and 2021 

Due to Covid-related circumstances, the Foundation invited nominations for the years 2020 and 2021. As such, a student who graduated in 2020 was able  to be nominated and any student or youth who met the criteria and categories in 2020 and 2021 could be nominated as well.  We thank all nominators for taking the time to submit their inspiring letters of nominations and for their patience regarding the public announcement.

Nunavut News – February 28, 2022

Upinnaqtuq Award Winners: Celebrating exceptional youth in our communities

Overcoming adversity in Canada’s North: Upinnaqtuq Award Honours outstanding youth

The Recipients are:

  • Gabe Allen from Kimmirut
  • Atuat Aliyak from Rankin Inlet
  • Alex (Anaviapik) Angnetsiak from Pond Inlet
  • Ruben Dewar from Iqaluit
  • Lia Dimitruk from Cambridge Bay
  • Hailey Hachey from Baker Lake
  • Rayen Havioyak from Kugklutuk
  • Hailie Kaurayok from Arviat
  • Kassidy Klinger from Baker Lake
  • Romeyn Kritaqliluk from Arviat
  • Andy Saagiaqtu from Kinngait
  • Jovon-Jake Sanertaut from Kuggaruk

Note: Jovon’s participation in the Jackpine canoe trip was sponsored and paid for by The Ayalik Fund. Learn more about the The Ayalik Fund.

  • Johnny Padluq from Kimmirut
  • Joyce Tunnillie from Kinngait
  • Kiersten Williams from Iqaluit
  • Gregory Wiseman from Rankin Inlet
  • Katie Yu from Iqaluit

Eden Aglukark from Iqaluit

John Ashevak from Kinngait

Ashley Curley from Arviat

Mariah Erkloo from Pond Inlet

Lily Hickes from Iqaluit

Russell Kaput from Rankin Inlet

Simon Eegeesiak McDonald  from Iqaluit

Shane Adams from Rankin Inlet

Destyni Atatahak from Kugluktuk

Akutaq Williamson Bathory from Iqaluit

Miles Brewster from Iqaluit

Tim Idlout from Resolute Bay

Lou Kopak from Iqaluit

Kristen MacDonald from Iqaluit

Shawn Mike from Iqaluit

Ryleigh McPherson from Iqaluit

Mukpah Otak  from Iqaluit

Sarah Enoogoo, Grade 12 from Pond Inlet

Deanna Kooneeliusie, Grade 12 from Qikiqtarjuak

Linda Kopalie, Grade 11 from Qikiqtarjuak

Adam Jonah Nookiguak, Grade 12 from Qikiqtarjuak

Annie Nookiguak, Grade 12 from Qikiqtarjuak

Colby Hickey, Iqaluit

Jillian Kyak, Pond Inlet

Taryn Lavallee, Iqaluit

Nolan Sammurtok, Rankin Inlet

2014 Recipients The Nunavut Law Foundation is proud to announce the recipients of the 2014 Upinnaqtuq Awards. The word “Upinnaqtuq”in Inuktitut means “to celebrate a person’s accomplishments” or “a person you are proud of”. The Recipients are:

Etuangat Akeeagok, Grise Fiord

Kiyanna Drachenberg,Iqaluit

Margaret Gauthier, Iqaluit

Hayden Hickey, Iqaluit

Scott Kiluksishak, Pond Inlet

Kaj Sandbakken, Iqaluit

Veronica Uttak, Repulse Bay

Kaj Sandbakken, Iqaluit

Aloka Wijesooriya, Iqaluit

View our photo gallery from the November 14 Iqaluit celebrations!

November 13,2013 Media Advisory : English here and Inuktitut here

November 28, 2013 Nunatsiaq News article:Nunavut Law Foundation hands out Upinnaqtuq awards

The Upinnaqtuq Awards were created in 2011 to honour of Madame Justice Beverly Browne, who sat as a Territorial Court Judge in the Northwest Territories from 1990 until 1999 before becoming the first Senior Judge of the unified Nunavut Court of Justice upon Nunavut’s creation until 2009.

The Awards commemorate Justice Browne’s active volunteerism in Nunavut’s communities, her commitment to social justice, and her particular dedication to working with youth. They are awarded annually to students and youth throughout Nunavut who demonstrate qualities of leadership in conflict resolution or remarkable progress in rehabilitation.

2014 Complete Call and Details English

2014 Complete Call and Details Inuktitut

2014 Complete Call and Details French

Great turn out from family, friends and community members!

The Upinnaqtuq Award gets its own logo!

The logo represents the inclusion of sports, community and school into a person’s life. The symbols inside the circle represent these three aspects, showing how they are intertwined with each other. The circle represents both the world and a sun at the same time. Resting this on the shoulders of the person gives the logo an uplifting feeling, showing that accomplishments are within one’s reach.

Thank you Gillian Cummings ( 2014 summer student) for this beautiful art piece!

Logo description_Inuktitut
Logo description_Fr